Government Medical College, Jammu – 2026 Overview

public · Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir

Review courses, fees, eligibility, admission routes, placements, rankings and student reviews for Government Medical College before making your shortlist.

Visit official website

DECISION NOTE

Use Government Medical College's programme, eligibility and fee records as a shortlist starting point. Confirm current admission dates, total cost and outcomes with the institution before applying.

32Active programmes
—Student reviews
—Average rating
—Placement years

About Government Medical College

History and Background

Government Medical College, Jammu, is at B-5, Medical Enclave, Bakshi Nagar, Jammu 180001. The WHO South-East Asia Public Health Institutions profile says the college started in 1973 to train 50 MBBS students a year and to serve as a referral hospital for Jammu province, and that MBBS seats were later increased to 120. It says postgraduate training is also offered. The profile says bed strength began at 900 and, after the Medical College Hospital building opened in 1993, reached 1,700 beds including associated hospitals and Sir Col. R.N. Chopra Nursing Home. Teaching hospitals named are Medical College Hospital, CD Hospital, SMGS Hospital, Psychiatry Hospital, and the Dental Hospital. The phone on that profile is 0191-2584234. The website given is https://gmcjammu.nic.in. That site did not open when checked on 1 October 2026, so these facts are taken from the WHO profile.

Campus and Location

Established in 1973. Located in Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir. B-5, Medical Enclave, Bakshi Nagar, Jammu 180001, Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir

Courses and Programmes Offered

B.Tech / B.E. Programmes

- Diploma in Sanitary Inspector – 24 years · B.Tech / B.E. profile

Diploma - PG Programmes

- Post Graduate Diploma in Child Health – 24 years · Diploma - PG profile

- Post Graduate Diploma in Clinical Pathology – 24 years

- Post Graduate Diploma in Obstetrics and Gynaecology – 24 years

- Post Graduate Diploma in Radio Diagnosis – 24 years

Diploma - UG Programmes

- Diploma in Dental Assistant – 24 years · Diploma - UG profile

- Diploma in ISM – 24 years

- Diploma in Lab Assistant – 24 years

- Diploma in Medical / Pharmacy Assistant – 24 years

- Diploma in Opthalmic Assistant – 24 years

- Diploma in X-Ray Assistant – 24 years

Diploma in General Nursing and Midwifery (GNM) Programmes

- General Nursing and Midwifery (GNM) – 36 years · Diploma in General Nursing and Midwifery (GNM) profile

B.Pharm and M.Pharm Programmes

- MD in Pharmacology – 36 years · M.Pharm profile

M.S Programmes

- MS in General Surgery – 36 years · M.S profile

- MS in Ophthalmology – 36 years

- MS in Orthopaedics – 36 years

MBBS Programmes

- MBBS – 5 years – The WHO SEARO institute profile says the college trains students for the MBBS course. It does not state the entrance test on that page. · MBBS profile

MD Programmes

- MD in Anaesthesiology – 36 years · MD profile

- MD in Anatomy – 36 years

- MD in Community Medicine – 36 years

- MD in Dermatology, Venereology and Leprosy – 36 years

- MD in General Medicine – 36 years

- MD in Immuno Haematology and Blood Transfusion – 36 years

- MD in Microbiology – 36 years

- MD in Paediatrics – 36 years

- MD in Pathology – 36 years

- MD in Physiology – 36 years

- MD in Radio Diagnosis – 36 years

- MS in ENT (Otorhinolaryngology) – 36 years

- MS in Obstetrtics and Gynaecology – 36 years

- Post Graduate Diploma in Anaesthesia – 24 years

- Post Graduate Diploma in Orthopaedics – 24 years

Admission Process and Eligibility

Eligibility Criteria by Programme

- MBBS: The WHO SEARO institute profile says the college trains students for the MBBS course. It does not state the entrance test on that page..

How to Apply

Check the relevant programme eligibility, follow the mapped entrance-exam or university counselling route, and confirm dates, documents and fees on the official admission notice.

Faculty and Departments

Key Faculty Members

- Dr. Aniece Chowdhary – Principal

Frequently asked questions

What is Government Medical College known for?

Government Medical College offers B.Tech / B.E., Diploma - PG, Diploma - UG, Diploma in General Nursing and Midwifery (GNM), B.Pharm and M.Pharm, M.S, MBBS, MD across 32 active programme records.

What are the main courses at Government Medical College?

Government Medical College lists Diploma in Sanitary Inspector, Post Graduate Diploma in Child Health, Post Graduate Diploma in Clinical Pathology, Post Graduate Diploma in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Post Graduate Diploma in Radio Diagnosis, and other programmes.

Is Government Medical College government or private?

Government Medical College is recorded as a public in the current profile data.

Where is Government Medical College located?

Government Medical College is listed in Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir.

Where can I verify Government Medical College admission details?

Use the official Government Medical College website for current admission dates, eligibility, fees and application instructions.

Data note: Fees, placements, rankings and reviews are recorded evidence and may change by batch, category, role, recruiter mix or academic year. Verify the latest official information before applying.